Work on the mind

I finally watched “Eat Pray Love”. Yes, just recently! Even though the movie is a bit slow, I liked it and found a bunch of inspiring thoughts in it. Of all, I selected the one below:

“You need to learn how to select your thoughts just the same way you select your clothes every day. This is a power you can cultivate. If you want to control things in your life so bad, work on the mind. That’s the only thing you should be trying to control.” — Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love)

Why this one? Because I always wonder… How can someone achieve mind control? Can someone order himself not to feel pain, fear, fatigue, etc…? What’s the best and most effective practice to train the mind? Is it meditation? Physical activity? Yoga?

Can you stop your mind from wandering? and for how long?

I know that this is a wide subject and that each one has his own way, so it would be great if you share your experience and/or knowledge with me and maybe answer some of these questions🙂.

This entry was posted in Movies, Personal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Work on the mind

  1. kalynor says:

    You can train the mind to control emotions, its a very difficult and long process ( for me anyway, im still learning!), i went to a spiritual healer once and what she taught me was to disconnect yourself from said emotion and try to be an observer, like an out of body experience, sort of meditation…To tell you the truth its very difficult to apply, or maybe im too emotional! the only thing that works seems to be a positive attitude to life , because it helps you overcome anything…

  2. I still can’t control my emotions & my thoughts…but I found a way to release my feelings, by writing them down and letting them out of my system… and it’s helping so far!

  3. peardada says:

    Dhamma and meditation!

Leave a Reply

