Up Close And Personal

This movie might have received bad critics some 15 years ago, but it’s one of the movies that regardless of the many times I watched it, I still smile, laugh and cry on the same scenes.

Yesterday I watched it again. It had been a long time since I stumbled upon it on TV and some scenes stroke me again and I felt that they carry a new meaning for me, now that several years have passed.

In addition to the fact that the movie is all about TV journalism and the life of reporters and anchors (that I’m very curious about), it’s mainly the love story in the movie that makes my heart stop each time (nothing new). Robert Redford and Michelle Pfeiffer gave an excellent performance. It’s one of the movies where you can hardly separate the actor from the role he’s playing. It’s the story of two workaholics who can’t stand to be away from their work and have their goals right in front of their eyes and yet, two very accomplished adults who still need each other to get going.

The theme song of the movie is the so-known ‘Because you loved me‘ by Celine Dion. The lyrics of the song match the movie perfectly.

The movie is full of passion, devotion and inspiring messages. It is definitely worth a look.

– “If you’re hungry enough to fake it, you might be hungry enough to do it”. Warren Justice

– “Every day we have is one more than we deserve.” Warren Justice

– [Warren’s advice about news headlines]: “If it bleeds, it leads.”

– “Your voice is full of money.” Bucky Terranova

– [Tally proposes marriage to Warren]
Tally Atwater: Marry Me.
Warren Justice: What?
Tally Atwater: Marry Me.
Warren Justice: I’ve been married. Twice. Bad idea. Twice.
Tally Atwater: I want you around in the morning.
Warren Justice: You already have me around in the morning. How, I don’t know, but you do.
Tally Atwater: I want to know you’re legally required to be there.

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Up Close And Personal

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever watched this movie but it sounds like a good one… what can i do?! I’m a romantic! I’ll let u know when i watch it!

Leave a Reply

