Revolutionary Road

This is one of the movies that touch something really deep within you and leave you emotionally shaken by what you just saw. At least that’s what it did to me.

Revolutionary Road is the story of “a young couple living in a Connecticut suburb during the mid-1950s struggle to come to terms with their personal problems while trying to raise their two children. Based on a novel by Richard Yates.” (IMDB)


It is a story about marriage, broken dreams, personal struggle, work, children, betrayal… that was amazingly played by Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet. They both expressed so well their complex characters and succeeded to deliver a lot with sometimes just a look in the eyes.

April Wheeler: I wanted IN. I just wanted us to live again. For years I thought we've shared this secret that we would be wonderful in the world. I don't know exactly how, but just the possibility kept me hoping. How pathetic is that? So stupid. To put all your hopes in a promise that was never made. Frank knows what he wants, he found his place, he's just fine. Married, two kids, it should be enough. It is for him. And he's right; we were never special or destined for anything at all.

A very remarkable performance, despite being short, was delivered by Michael Shannon in his role as the clinically insane son of Kathy Bates character for which he got an Academy Awards nomination as Best Supporting Actor.

 

The movie might be dark and lightly depressive but it is definitely HIGHLY recommended. Take a look:

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Revolutionary Road

  1. dbmoviesblog says:

    You are so right. I absolutely adore this film. I can say that I cried twice though while I read the book. The book is better than the film, but the film did do justice to it. Btw I provided my own in-depth review of this film on my blog under Film Review I if you want to take a look.

  2. t.on.air says:

    I totally agree with you. Both actors did an excellent job. Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

