Goodbye 2011

I’m taking a moment on this last friday of 2011 to look back to the year that is waving us goodbye in less than 48 hours.

The major change that happened in my life this year was moving to a new job. I began my quest in January 2011, deciding on a career change, and after 6 months of searching, thinking, doubting and worrying, I finally landed. It was not an easy decision but it’s totally worth it. So, for the ones among you who are just watching the time pass in their jobs, not feeling challenged and not learning anything new, *hint* have the courage to leave your comfort zone, risk to embrace the unknown, revive your confidence and ask yourself this question: What if I’m doing the work that I really like?

And if you really feel like doing something, just do it, you can’t know unless you try. And guess what? It is ok to fail.

Another thing that I’m happy I did this year was this blog and most importantly The Cube. I spent 2010 discovering blogs, reading posts and envying all those bloggers who really know what to say and find the right words to express their ideas, opinion and feelings. It’s a really nice feeling to know that you have your own space where you can share your passions and all the things that matter to you. So if you feel you have something to say, go on, do it. A blog is a great place to share your thoughts and learn from others.

PS. If you are an avid reader and love books, you MUST join me in The Cube experience.

And speaking of online communication, 2011 made me fall even more in love with Twitter. Every day, I meet someone new, I come across important news, beautiful pictures, great talents, funny stuff and it always makes my day better. If you are still watching twitter from far, come close and believe me you won’t regret it.

Another lovely online discovery this year was Pinterest. I just love browsing this website. It’s a great window to lots of beautiful stuff and it’s quite inspiring.

Back to real life, 2011 was a great year of self discovery. And gosh! I have so much work to do. But I’m happy, happy to realize those things that would make me a more mature person, bringing me a tad closer to that inner peace.

2011 also made me realize how much a lucky person I am. Lucky to have people around me that really love me. Lucky that the people I love are still by my side. Lucky to have true friends. Lucky to be in good health and having a decent life. (*knocks on wood* :P)

Thank you 2011, you taught me a lot.

2012, I have high expectations.

PS. One of my 2012 resolutions is to update this blog more often.

 

This entry was posted in Just a thought, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Goodbye 2011

  1. mich1mich says:

    A very Happy New Year to you Marie. Here’s to all its adventures and looking forward to more posts🙂

  2. Sareen says:

    Happy New Year Marie! Can’t wait to read next year’s posts😀

  3. Krystel says:

    OMG I see myself so much in what you wrote! Guess i had the same experiences this year🙂 very nice. wish you the bestest for 2012! Keep it up!

  4. Marie says:

    Thank you ladies very much😀 I’m happy you like the post. Have a great New Year🙂

  5. Chantal says:

    Happy New Year Marie! May this year be full of more interesting things to do and discover new hobbies😉

  6. eliefares says:

    Happy new year! And congrats on all the blessings 2011 had to offer🙂

  7. Liliane says:

    I agree with everything you said! I was there beside you during your career change / job search, it’s pretty agonizing! because I went through it the year before! It’s very rewarding indeed🙂

    Blogging, twitter, reading, thecube! Yes yes yes and yes😀

    As for health and being surrounded by people you love and love you back, this is the most important🙂

  8. orayeena says:

    I loved 2011 and one of the reasons why i did, is because twitter and the lebanese blogosphere made me meet great people like you Marie.

  9. “It’s a really nice feeling to know that you have your own space where you can share your passions and all the things that matter to you.”
    I couldn’t agree more! Blogging is really a great experience🙂
    As for 2011, it taught me a lot too! (If you’re interested in my blog post on 2011 check out “25 – blessed and thankful” on my blog)
    Thanks for sharing Marie, I really like going on your blog. I find it very rich🙂

Leave a Reply

