My last day of being 25

When I was 7 or 8, I always thought that 25 is way too old. I bet lots of you did as well. My birthday was always a massive celebration at home, we had a big house, my parents invited all my friends and family. It was always a happy day. Last year I didn’t enjoy my birthday much, was I in the middle of a quarter-life crisis? (Yes, that thing exists) Well maybe, but I would rather say that turning 25 is a milestone. It may not seem very significant to those who have already passed that age but it is kind of the turning point between “still growing” and “aging”. Your decisions, opinions and judgements start to gain more importance and have a bigger impact on your life. People start waiting for you to talk and don’t just wave their hand muttering “too young”.

This is also the age where you start looking at your peers and where they stand. What have they accomplished? Are they more successful at their jobs? Are they more happy? Are they married? Are they planning to? Did they become parents? Have you missed something? What makes them different?

And this is where you need to STOP and rather ask: Is that what I want? Am I satisfied? It is not a matter of years, it is a matter of life events, of chances, of decisions.

When I was 7 or 8, I also promised myself that I wont be the kind of woman who doesn’t tell her age. At that time, It seemed stupid for me to hide one’s age (but I do wonder if one day I will change my mind).

And so, tomorrow I will be 26.

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My last day of being 25

  1. yasmine says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

  2. QLC says:

    I know exactly how you feel! I am 25 about to be 26. Its really easy to get bogged down by what everyone else around you is doing and of course start to compare yourself, But, I guess in the end its a normal feeling to have, you just have to recognize it.

  3. bec says:

    Summarised beautifully. So glad someone else feels like this at 25!!

Leave a Reply

